Thread: Netiba
View Single Post
Old 23-11-2005, 04:21 PM   #2
jambutty
Geriatric Moderator
 
jambutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Darwen, Lancashire, England
Posts: 18,635
Angry

I take your point Babbaluci but if memory serves me well (and at my age there is some doubt) this Sasha person claimed to have forged the NetIBA certificate so it is hardly their fault if someone does that.

Maybe the thing to do is to join NetIBA at http://www.netiba.com/index.html and have a site verified as NetIBA verified each time that you visit one.

As near as I can work out you have to pay some cash to be a member. $19.95 for one year for each of your email address, your user name and web site URL. For your cash you get to use the NetIBA logo and some code so that if anyone clicks on it they get taken to the NetIBA home page. You also get NetIBA's CONSUMER PROTECTION TOOL that alerts you when you access a NetIBA verified web site and access to the members discussion board. Forum to you and me.

Clicking on the NetIBA logo just brings up their home page. What I would have expected is a message to say that the site is registered with NetIBA or not.

So for me NetIBA is nothing more than a means of making money for their admin and they have no official backing and no teeth if a member scams the public. The best that they can do is point you to some authority that can take action if you lodge a complaint with that authority.

This forum is as good an authority as NetIBA for naming good and scam sites and it is FREE to anyone who cares to join. In fact you don’t even have to join to read.

The NetIBA home page sports their logo with an ID# of 540027X. StormPay’s ID# is 540054X. Has anyone spotted a higher ID# anywhere?
__________________
Forum Rules - FAQ's - Halls Of Shame
jambutty is offline   Reply With Quote